Private Phone-Number App Comparison: Identity, Retention, Porting, and Limits

Status: page build populated from final phone tool cells (research-builder, cp-iq7t6, 2026-10-01); every rendered value transcludes a persisted tool cell (content_work.privacy_tool_cells) or is labelled a typed unknown. Content is author-populated and has not yet passed research-validator grounding, copy-editor fidelity review, persona-counsel, persona-bruce (GEO), or persona-arachne (structural) in the publish gauntlet. Not legal advice.

Short answer

This page compares a bounded, five-vendor phone-number roster (Burner, Hushed, MySudo, Cloaked, Google Voice, listed here alphabetically by operating entity) on what each service masks, who still receives identity information, retention, portability, and lawful-request handling. Every rendered value transcludes a captured tool cell with its claim label, source, and capture date, or is marked a typed unknown. No row is highlighted and no vendor is singled out as preferred.

What the phone-number service masks

A private-number service replaces the number a counterparty sees with a separate, vendor-issued number. The boundary is limited to the counterparty-facing number and does not imply that a provider, carrier, platform, or lawful recipient lacks identity information. What each vendor itself documents about issuance and plan/platform scope is in the comparison table below.

Who still receives identity information

Every vendor in this roster collects at least one identifier at signup or at a later verification trigger, and names a collecting actor for it (the vendor itself, a telephony or identity-verification partner, or in Burner's case, Apple or Google for sign-in). The signup/later-verification table below keeps collecting actor, plan, and region separate per vendor rather than merging them into one claim.

Signup identifiers and later verification triggers

Signup identifiers (what is asked when an account is first created) and later verification triggers (what can be asked afterward, for a specific capability) remain separate columns below. Cloaked's captured policy and terms do not disclose a bounded signup-identifier or later-trigger tuple for the phone product; both cells are typed unknowns rather than inferred from the company's general data-collection language.

Operating entityProduct, plan, region, and platformWhat is maskedSignup identifiers and collecting actorLater verification triggers and collecting actorRetention by categoryLawful-request process or reportingClaim typeSource originCaptured at
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.standard Burner number / published consumer plans; iOS; Android; webVendor says U.S. and Canada only, excluding Puerto Rico; available area codes vary. sourceApple or Google sign-in; main mobile number depends on setup. sourcePrivacy-rights requests may require identity and purchase evidence. sourcePurpose-based retention; backups and some history may remain longer. sourceNo lawful-request count report was disclosed in the bounded primary-source roster. sourcevendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30
AffinityClick Inc.current in-app inventory; country availability depends on number stock; iOS and Android mobile/tablet; article says current support is iOS 15 / Android 7 and aboveThe current support table lists Canada, the UK, the US, and Puerto Rico; inventory and regional VoIP limits apply. sourceLogin ID (including email) and password are collected at signup; the support article separately describes email-address/username/password signup. sourceConditional identity/address evidence may be requested for some countries; port-out asks for a recent purchase receipt. sourceThe policy gives deletion-triggered retention for message content, call-detail records, and voicemail, plus a general necessity/legal rule. sourceThe policy states a lawful-request and preservation process but publishes no request count in the reviewed materials. sourcevendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30
Anonyome Labs, Inc.SudoGo, SudoPro, or SudoMax with available number entitlements; MySudo appMySudo currently offers number creation in Canada (limited), the UK, and the US; a paid plan is required, and UK numbers require identity verification. sourceMySudo says initial setup does not require a name, username, password, date of birth, mobile number, or existing email address; regulated optional capabilities can require legal-identity verification. sourceLegal-identity verification is required before a user can obtain a UK phone number. sourceSudo Platform says it retains knowledge of deleted profiles and identifiers for 24 hours and server request logs for 24 hours. sourceA process page is not converted into a zero-count transparency report. sourcevendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30
Cloaked, Inc.Not disclosed in the captured primary source.; Not disclosed in the captured primary source.The article describes working VoIP numbers but not the countries from which numbers are issued or a complete user-eligibility rule. No country value is inferred from the site's general availability footer. sourceThe policy lists information the vendor may receive, but not the minimum identifiers required at initial Cloaked account signup. Card onboarding identifiers are captured separately under later_verification_triggers. sourceThe terms say proof of identity may be required to access or use the service, but do not disclose a bounded trigger/identifier/collector/retainer tuple for this class. sourceAccount/service duration, plus legal or regulatory exceptions. sourceLegal-process policy stated; request counts not disclosed. sourcevendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30
Google LLCpersonal; web browser and mobile devicesGoogle says users in the United States can choose a Google Voice number, subject to local availability. sourceGoogle's current Voice signup-verification page asks for legal name, a government-issued ID document, and address. sourceGoogle says an account that requires identity verification must complete it before a reserved number can be ported out. sourceGoogle's general policy uses several retention periods; the captured policy does not state a Voice-specific duration. sourceGoogle says request counts are in its Transparency Report; the captured allowed-host page does not state a period or count for Google Voice. sourcevendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30

Data retained and retention periods

Retention is reported per vendor at whatever grain the vendor itself publishes (a fixed calendar period, a deletion-triggered duration, or a general necessity/legal-purpose rule). A missing retention statement remains a typed unknown; it is not rendered as zero retention.

Portability and operational constraints

Port-in and port-out are documented separately per vendor below, including where the vendor's own sources conflict (Burner's FAQ and Terms disagree on port-out, and both are preserved rather than resolved by this page). Portability is kept separate from ordinary product availability and from number recycling.

Lawful-request process and transparency reporting

Every vendor in this roster describes a lawful-request or legal-process procedure; none of the five publishes a request count, period, or unit in the sources captured for this page. That absence is a typed unknown, not a published zero.

Claim labels, sources, and capture dates

Every value on this page carries a claim type (vendor_stated for all cells except Burner's source-availability cell, which is public_repository), a source origin, a capture date, and a fetch-event reference. All captures for this roster land on 2026-09-30. No independently_tested claim is rendered on this page. The evidence ledger below lists every rendered attribute per vendor with its own citation.

Vendor or operating entityAttributeClaim typeSource originSource URLCapture dateFetch eventObservation versionCorrection state
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Signup identifiersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.burnerapp.com/faq2026-09-30c55da50a-64e6-5875-9f3e-94fec1f24de91No correction filed
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Later verification triggersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.adhoclabs.co/privacy-policy2026-09-30ff44a6c4-ff96-593a-b251-3400d8f1fe231No correction filed
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Retentionvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.adhoclabs.co/privacy-policy2026-09-30ff44a6c4-ff96-593a-b251-3400d8f1fe231No correction filed
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Number issuancevendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.burnerapp.com/faq2026-09-30c55da50a-64e6-5875-9f3e-94fec1f24de91No correction filed
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Phone portabilityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.burnerapp.com/faq2026-09-30c55da50a-64e6-5875-9f3e-94fec1f24de91No correction filed
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Lawful-request reportingvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.burnerapp.com/sitemap.xml2026-09-300fa4bb85-317e-51dc-b290-b6af0d99c9fa1No correction filed
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Operating entityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.adhoclabs.co/terms-of-service2026-09-30fc2d42df-6d85-542f-820c-45c68cf0ee811No correction filed
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Source availabilityvendor_statedpublic_repositoryhttps://raw.githubusercontent.com/adhoclabs/burner-app-starter-kit/master/README.md2026-09-30f5fd4c97-e44b-5aa7-bf34-2e71ca7178371No correction filed
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Audit reportvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.burnerapp.com/sitemap.xml2026-09-300fa4bb85-317e-51dc-b290-b6af0d99c9fa1No correction filed
AffinityClick Inc.Signup identifiersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://hushed.com/privacy-policy/2026-09-300baea6d8-fb89-40a0-a6d8-1d8a292ebfdf1No correction filed
AffinityClick Inc.Later verification triggersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://hushed.com/privacy-policy/2026-09-300baea6d8-fb89-40a0-a6d8-1d8a292ebfdf1No correction filed
AffinityClick Inc.Retentionvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://hushed.com/privacy-policy/2026-09-300baea6d8-fb89-40a0-a6d8-1d8a292ebfdf1No correction filed
AffinityClick Inc.Number issuancevendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.hushed.com/hc/en-us/articles/360015705291-Country-List-What-countries-can-I-buy-phone-numbers-from2026-09-30cf293eb2-69de-42eb-a49a-36fd0ae43fc81No correction filed
AffinityClick Inc.Phone portabilityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.hushed.com/hc/en-us/articles/360015705591-Porting-Numbers-Can-I-transfer-my-existing-number-to-Hushed2026-09-30fb84e4bb-0ad6-4f74-b5ac-9e26e5607a261No correction filed
AffinityClick Inc.Lawful-request reportingvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://hushed.com/privacy-policy/2026-09-300baea6d8-fb89-40a0-a6d8-1d8a292ebfdf1No correction filed
AffinityClick Inc.Operating entityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://hushed.com/privacy-policy/2026-09-300baea6d8-fb89-40a0-a6d8-1d8a292ebfdf1No correction filed
AffinityClick Inc.Source availabilityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://hushed.com/terms-of-service/2026-09-302c1692c9-e670-4fac-88c8-26fcdf7c36ed1No correction filed
AffinityClick Inc.Audit reportvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://hushed.com/privacy-policy/2026-09-300baea6d8-fb89-40a0-a6d8-1d8a292ebfdf1No correction filed
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Signup identifiersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.mysudo.com/hc/en-us/articles/360006496314-What-information-do-I-have-to-provide-when-I-install-and-set-up-MySudo2026-09-30c9821d83-0793-4de8-be51-7b7a3db494c61No correction filed
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Later verification triggersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.mysudo.com/hc/en-us/articles/360019983274-Supported-Countries-for-MySudo-Phone-Numbers2026-09-309690462d-2398-4587-a0ed-2bcd2ff16c1f1No correction filed
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Retentionvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.mysudo.com/hc/en-us/articles/360006599413-How-long-do-you-store-information2026-09-30906629af-65b5-4487-9d50-614e87f96e031No correction filed
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Number issuancevendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.mysudo.com/hc/en-us/articles/360019983274-Supported-Countries-for-MySudo-Phone-Numbers2026-09-309690462d-2398-4587-a0ed-2bcd2ff16c1f1No correction filed
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Phone portabilityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.mysudo.com/hc/en-us/articles/360019983354-Porting-a-Phone-Number-Into-MySudo2026-09-30b3ce209f-a0c5-4be4-8ec9-eeef9eca51ef1No correction filed
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Lawful-request reportingvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://anonyome.com/government-requests/2026-09-300896875d-3878-47b5-9836-c9dce5c9ad161No correction filed
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Operating entityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://anonyome.com/terms-of-service/2026-09-3056d73389-19dd-48bc-ae24-a75efeb2b1241No correction filed
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Source availabilityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.mysudo.com/hc/en-us/articles/360006498834-Is-MySudo-open-source2026-09-30be84f401-a15e-40ea-b942-f25a22947bdb1No correction filed
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Audit reportvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://mysudo.com/2026-09-300b5e1595-e3a9-44ea-b509-53674467b1461No correction filed
Cloaked, Inc.Signup identifiersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.cloaked.com/legal/privacy-policy2026-09-30b83c11a1-7402-5c6f-a9b6-6d481edaffee1No correction filed
Cloaked, Inc.Later verification triggersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.cloaked.com/legal/terms-of-service2026-09-30fc23860c-d92a-5f1b-b706-6eb623ceabb61No correction filed
Cloaked, Inc.Retentionvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.cloaked.com/legal/privacy-policy2026-09-30b83c11a1-7402-5c6f-a9b6-6d481edaffee1No correction filed
Cloaked, Inc.Number issuancevendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://help.cloaked.com/en/articles/13296542-how-cloaked-phone-numbers-work2026-09-3050ea2083-222c-5508-bbee-0b8f92be6dbf1No correction filed
Cloaked, Inc.Phone portabilityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://help.cloaked.com/en/articles/13296542-how-cloaked-phone-numbers-work2026-09-3050ea2083-222c-5508-bbee-0b8f92be6dbf1No correction filed
Cloaked, Inc.Lawful-request reportingvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.cloaked.com/legal/privacy-policy2026-09-30b83c11a1-7402-5c6f-a9b6-6d481edaffee1No correction filed
Cloaked, Inc.Operating entityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.cloaked.com/legal/terms-of-service2026-09-30fc23860c-d92a-5f1b-b706-6eb623ceabb61No correction filed
Cloaked, Inc.Source availabilityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.cloaked.com/legal/terms-of-service2026-09-30fc23860c-d92a-5f1b-b706-6eb623ceabb61No correction filed
Cloaked, Inc.Audit reportvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://www.cloaked.com/trust2026-09-3010349377-79b0-5b7a-9508-fa191e09a4541No correction filed
Google LLCSignup identifiersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.google.com/voice/answer/16768664?hl=en2026-09-30fbe4d138-fc88-45b6-9b49-5b8ce68436be1No correction filed
Google LLCLater verification triggersvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.google.com/voice/answer/1065667?hl=en2026-09-30ca54b143-37f3-4d56-8be7-fb8b69d2317d1No correction filed
Google LLCRetentionvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://policies.google.com/privacy?hl=en-US2026-09-303b3303e3-f613-421c-bf9e-92b8aa6437d11No correction filed
Google LLCNumber issuancevendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.google.com/voice/answer/115061?hl=en2026-09-30ea3e693d-9b25-4af1-a53e-833185f2bfa01No correction filed
Google LLCPhone portabilityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://support.google.com/voice/answer/1065667?hl=en2026-09-30ca54b143-37f3-4d56-8be7-fb8b69d2317d1No correction filed
Google LLCLawful-request reportingvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://policies.google.com/privacy?hl=en-US2026-09-303b3303e3-f613-421c-bf9e-92b8aa6437d11No correction filed
Google LLCOperating entityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://policies.google.com/terms?hl=en-US2026-09-30ccc238a6-70d3-4488-88b6-272caf2187e01No correction filed
Google LLCSource availabilityvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://policies.google.com/terms?hl=en-US2026-09-30ccc238a6-70d3-4488-88b6-272caf2187e01No correction filed
Google LLCAudit reportvendor_statedvendor_primaryhttps://policies.google.com/privacy?hl=en-US2026-09-303b3303e3-f613-421c-bf9e-92b8aa6437d11No correction filed

Corrections and version history

The public correction procedure is maintained on the methodology hub. 5 vendors are recorded for the phone class; no correction has been filed against any of them as of 2026-10-01. This page uses the same correction process as every other vendor on the site; there is no vendor-specific private correction channel.

Number type and issuance countries

Number type is reported only where the vendor's own captured text uses that term; Hushed and Cloaked describe their numbers as VoIP in the captured source, Burner, MySudo, and Google Voice do not use that term in the captured text, so their number type is a typed unknown rather than an inferred classification. Issuance country, user eligibility, and calling destination remain separate fields.

Port-in, port-out, and number recycling

Port-in, port-out, and recycling are reported as three separate facts per vendor. Support for porting a number in is never treated as a statement about recycling policy for a different, later-released number.

Platforms and use limitations

The frozen phone tool-cell schema has no platform-compatibility or operational-limits attribute, so every vendor row below is a typed unknown for both fields. This is a methodology gap in what this page's pinned schema captures, not a finding that any vendor is undocumented on these points elsewhere. No hands-on compatibility testing is claimed anywhere on this page.

Operating entityNumber typeIssuance countriesUser eligibilityPort inPort outRecycling policyPlatformsDocumented use limitsClaim typeSource originCaptured at
Ad Hoc Labs, Inc.Not stated as VoIP or another specific type in the captured source text.United States; Canada sourcesign up; choose an available area code; no SIM swap or credit check for a standard Burner numberFAQ says not currently supportedconflicting vendor statements: FAQ says Support can help; Terms say assigned numbers may not be ported (conflicting sources — both preserved) sourcenot disclosed in the fetched operative sourcesNot captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).Not captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).vendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30
AffinityClick Inc.VoIP (per vendor-published source text).Canada; United Kingdom; United States; Puerto Rico sourceNo proof of address required for number purchase in Canada, United Kingdom, United States, Puerto Rico (per vendor); app unavailable in 35 other listed countries.Supported for active mobile and VoIP numbers; landlines and inactive/expired numbers are excluded. The article lists UK PAC requirements and US/Canada account-number, port-out-PIN, full-name, and country-matching address requirements.Vendor says Hushed numbers can be ported to another carrier; the receiving carrier initiates and Hushed support provides required port-out information after receipt verification. sourceA deleted/unassigned number may later be assigned to another user; restoration after expiry is not guaranteed.Not captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).Not captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).vendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30
Anonyome Labs, Inc.Not stated as VoIP or another specific type in the captured source text.Canada (limited availability); United Kingdom; United States sourcepaid subscription required; UK numbers require accurate current legal-identity informationsupported for active US or Canadian non-toll-free numbers on SudoPro or SudoMax; documentation and provider information requiredsupported through in-app Support; user then initiates transfer with the new carrier and keeps the MySudo number active until completion sourcenot_disclosed; a deleted number is permanently removed from the user's account and cannot be restoredNot captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).Not captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).vendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30
Cloaked, Inc.VoIP (per vendor-published source text).Not disclosed in the captured primary source. sourceNot disclosed in the captured primary source.Not disclosed in the captured primary source.Not disclosed in the captured primary source. sourceNumbers inactive for an extended period may be released.Not captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).Not captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).vendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30
Google LLCNot stated as VoIP or another specific type in the captured source text.United States sourceuser is in the United Statesactive US mobile numbers may be eligible; not all mobile numbers can be portedunlock the Voice number, then work with the gaining carrier sourcenot disclosed on the captured portability pageNot captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).Not captured by the frozen phone tool-cell schema (methodology gap, not a vendor-specific finding).vendor_statedvendor_primary2026-09-30

Sources

The companion sources.json carries all 45 rendered phone tool-cell attributes (9 per vendor; a tenth substrate attribute, deletion, exists per vendor but is outside this page's allowed-evidence list and is not rendered here), each with its claim type, source origin, source link, and capture date. Rendered fields are bounded to the U6 page-spec allowed_evidence list. The substrate also carries a 'deletion' phone attribute per vendor; it is not in U6's allowed_evidence and is intentionally not rendered on this page. This content is author-populated (research-builder) from the persisted tool cells and has not yet passed the rig's remaining publish gauntlet: research-validator grounding, copy-editor fidelity review, persona-counsel, persona-bruce (GEO), and persona-arachne (structural).

Not legal advice

Phone-number services, carrier controls, provider policies, and verification flows can change. This page is a source-bound comparison and not operational, legal, financial, or compliance guidance.