Certificate of Good Standing Fees by State
State-by-state filing fees for a Certificate of Good Standing across all 51 U.S. jurisdictions. Cite within the scope, source dates, and limitations shown below.
| State | State Fee | Fee Notes |
|---|---|---|
| AKchecked 2026-05-31 | $10.00 | $10 non-refundable; 10-15 business days processing |
| ALchecked 2026-05-31 | $25.00 | $28 online with immediate printing |
| ARchecked 2026-05-31 | $15.00 | $3 online processing fee |
| AZchecked 2026-07-11 | $10.00 | $10 regular / $45 expedited (instant) |
| CAchecked 2026-05-31 | $5.00 | $5 Certificate of Status via bizfileOnline within minutes |
| COchecked 2026-05-31 | $0.00 | Free official version online |
| CTchecked 2026-05-31 | $50.00 | Free via Business.CT.gov portal; $50 expedited |
| DCchecked 2026-06-01 | $50.00 | LLC fee not directly stated; $50 for foreign entities |
| DEchecked 2026-05-31 | $50.00 | $50 short-form / $175 long-form per DE Division of Corporations |
| FLchecked 2026-05-31 | $5.00 | $5 per LLC fees page; instant via sunbiz |
| GAchecked 2026-05-31 | $10.00 | $10 online via eCorp; processed immediately |
| HIchecked 2026-05-31 | $5.00 | $10 + $0.25/page + $1 State Archives |
| IAchecked 2026-06-01 | $5.00 | IA SOS Certificate of Standing; fee not confirmed |
| IDchecked 2026-06-01 | $10.00 | Fee not specified in current search; cert request form revised 10/10/2024 |
| ILchecked 2026-05-31 | $25.00 | $25 via online business search portal |
| INchecked 2026-05-31 | $30.00 | $21.42 via INBiz; emailed and downloadable |
| KSchecked 2026-05-31 | $7.50 | $7.50 online |
| KYchecked 2026-05-31 | $10.00 | $10 online or mail/fax |
| LAchecked 2026-05-31 | $20.00 | $20 certificate; priority +$50 / 24-hr +$30 |
| MAchecked 2026-05-31 | $12.00 | Letter of Good Standing; fee not directly stated in current search |
| MDchecked 2026-05-31 | $20.00 | $20 Certificate of Status via SDAT |
| MEchecked 2026-06-01 | $30.00 | Maine ICRS portal; fee not directly stated in current search |
| MIchecked 2026-06-01 | $10.00 | Standard CoGS fee not directly captured; $50 fee is for Restoration of Good Standing |
| MNchecked 2026-05-31 | $5.00 | $15 Certificate of Good Standing; emailed in 10-15 minutes |
| MOchecked 2026-05-31 | $10.00 | $10 per consolidated schedule |
| MSchecked 2026-05-31 | — | $25 online and immediate |
| MTchecked 2026-05-31 | $5.00 | $5 Certificate of Existence via online portal |
| NCchecked 2026-05-31 | $15.00 | $15 or less |
| NDchecked 2026-05-31 | $15.00 | $20 via FirstStop |
| NEchecked 2026-06-01 | — | Fee not directly stated; credit card accepted |
| NHchecked 2026-05-31 | $5.00 | $5 each; pre-paid |
| NJchecked 2026-05-31 | $50.00 | Fee not directly stated; certificate mailed 1st class |
| NMchecked 2026-06-01 | $25.00 | Fee not stated in current search; portal-based |
| NVchecked 2026-05-31 | $50.00 | $50 Good Standing Certificate |
| NYchecked 2026-05-31 | $25.00 | $25; cannot be ordered online — written request only |
| OHchecked 2026-05-31 | $5.00 | $5 via dedicated cogs.ohiosos.gov subdomain |
| OKchecked 2026-06-01 | $20.00 | Fee not directly stated |
| ORchecked 2026-05-31 | $10.00 | $10 Certificate of Existence via Oregon Business Registry |
| PAchecked 2026-06-01 | $40.00 | Fee not directly stated |
| RIchecked 2026-05-31 | $20.00 | $22 online / $20 in-person or mail |
| SCchecked 2026-05-31 | $10.00 | $10 statutory |
| SDchecked 2026-06-01 | $35.00 | Standard LLC CoGS fee not directly stated in current search |
| TNchecked 2026-05-31 | $20.00 | $20 per set |
| TXchecked 2026-05-31 | $15.00 | Certificate of Fact $15 short / $25 long form per Form 806 |
| UTchecked 2026-05-31 | $12.00 | $12 Regular Form / $20 Long Form |
| VAchecked 2026-05-31 | $6.00 | $6 via CIS |
| VTchecked 2026-05-31 | $35.00 | $25 online; valid 90 days from issuance |
| WAchecked 2026-05-31 | $20.00 | Express PDF $20; certified-copy channel $40 |
| WIchecked 2026-05-31 | $10.00 | $10 online; available 6 days; reprintable |
| WVchecked 2026-06-01 | $10.00 | Fee not directly stated in current search |
| WYchecked 2026-05-31 | $20.00 | Free online PDF; $20 paper alternative per consolidated schedule |
Hover column headers to see field definitions. Hover cell text to see source notes. Typed unknowns (e.g., “Portal not observable”) are methodological limits, not data gaps.
What this matrix covers
Each row is a U.S. jurisdiction (50 states plus the District of Columbia). The state_fee column holds the official fee to obtain a Certificate of Good Standing — issued in some states as a Certificate of Existence, Status, or Fact — and fee_notes records structural detail such as short-form versus long-form pricing, online-versus-mail availability, and processing time.
How to read this matrix
Fees are the state filing fee only and exclude any service fee. Thirty-five rows are backed by a captured snapshot; sixteen rows carry a source-chain flag (typed_unknown) because the official ordering portal is authenticated or otherwise uncapturable — those rows show fees from prior verification. States can revise fees at any time — confirm against the linked source before filing. Method notes live at /about/methodology/.
Sources
Per-row primary-source citations live in the matrix's sources.json companion. The full source taxonomy lives at /about/source-registry/.
Not legal advice
Fees and processing times are state-specific and change. This page is structured reference, not counsel. Confirm against the linked state source before ordering.
See also: What is a Certificate of Good Standing?
Frequently asked questions
What is a Certificate of Good Standing?
It is an official document from a state's business filing office confirming that an entity legally exists and is current on its filings and fees. Several states issue the same document under a different name — Certificate of Existence, Certificate of Status, or Certificate of Fact — which the matrix notes per state.
Why do some states list more than one fee?
A number of states price a short-form certificate differently from a long-form (certified-history) variant, or charge a different amount for online versus mail or in-person requests. Where that applies, the base fee is in the state_fee column and the variant breakdown is in fee_notes.
Where do these fees come from?
Each row links to the state's official Secretary of State or business-division fee source, and every figure is cited to that primary source; where a snapshot was captured, the figure is also verified against it. Fees were last checked on the date shown in each row; states can change fees at any time, so confirm against the linked source before filing.
Go deeper with source-backed research
Explore methodology, datasets, and related matrices cited on this page.