What Is a Certificate of Good Standing?

Plain-language explainer. For the official fee in every U.S. jurisdiction, see the Certificate of Good Standing Fees by State matrix. Not legal advice.

Short answer

A Certificate of Good Standing is an official document from a state's business filing office confirming that a registered entity legally exists and is current on its required filings and fees. It is the state vouching, on a specific date, that the company is active and compliant.

What it proves — and what it does not

The certificate proves that the entity is formed, has not been dissolved, and is up to date on the filings the state tracks (such as annual reports and franchise taxes). It does not say anything about the company's finances, creditworthiness, or the conduct of its owners. It is a compliance statement, not an endorsement.

When you need one

Common triggers: opening a business bank account, applying for a loan or line of credit, registering to do business in another state (foreign qualification), renewing certain licenses, or closing a sale or financing where the other side wants proof the entity is in good standing. Many of these requesters want a certificate dated within the last 30-90 days.

How to get one

You request it from the state's Secretary of State or equivalent business division — most offer online ordering, with mail and in-person options. The state charges a fee, and some price a short-form certificate differently from a long-form (certified-history) version. Per-state fees and the short-/long-form split are in the fee matrix.

Fees by state

Every state sets its own fee, and the name shifts with it — Certificate of Existence in some, Status, Fact, or Legal Existence in others. The good news is that this is a cheap document almost everywhere: Colorado issues it free, most states charge a few dollars up to $25, and the ceiling is $50 (Connecticut, Delaware, DC, Nevada, New Jersey). Two states — Mississippi and Nebraska — do not publish a standalone fee we could confirm, so their rows say so rather than invent a number. A blank is an unknown, not a $0.

A handful of states price the certificate by how you order it, and the spread is worth a glance before you pay. Indiana is $15 filed electronically but $30 by mail; South Dakota is $20 online and $35 on paper; Rhode Island is $20 at the counter and $22 online. Minnesota's $5 base picks up a $10 transaction fee if you order online, and Kansas's statutory $7.50 becomes $10 to $15 once the state portal adds its handling. The figure you pay depends on the channel — the table leads with the by-mail or base number and notes the alternate. Each fee is sourced to the state's filing office and backed by a captured snapshot; method notes are at /about/methodology/.

Last updated: 2026-06-07 · 51 jurisdictions (50 states + DC)

StateState FeeFee Notes
AKchecked 2026-05-31$10.00$10 non-refundable; 10-15 business days processing
ALchecked 2026-05-31$25.00$28 online with immediate printing
ARchecked 2026-05-31$15.00$3 online processing fee
AZchecked 2026-07-11$10.00$10 regular / $45 expedited (instant)
CAchecked 2026-05-31$5.00$5 Certificate of Status via bizfileOnline within minutes
COchecked 2026-05-31$0.00Free official version online
CTchecked 2026-05-31$50.00Free via Business.CT.gov portal; $50 expedited
DCchecked 2026-06-01$50.00LLC fee not directly stated; $50 for foreign entities
DEchecked 2026-05-31$50.00$50 short-form / $175 long-form per DE Division of Corporations
FLchecked 2026-05-31$5.00$5 per LLC fees page; instant via sunbiz
GAchecked 2026-05-31$10.00$10 online via eCorp; processed immediately
HIchecked 2026-05-31$5.00$10 + $0.25/page + $1 State Archives
IAchecked 2026-06-01$5.00IA SOS Certificate of Standing; fee not confirmed
IDchecked 2026-06-01$10.00Fee not specified in current search; cert request form revised 10/10/2024
ILchecked 2026-05-31$25.00$25 via online business search portal
INchecked 2026-05-31$30.00$21.42 via INBiz; emailed and downloadable
KSchecked 2026-05-31$7.50$7.50 online
KYchecked 2026-05-31$10.00$10 online or mail/fax
LAchecked 2026-05-31$20.00$20 certificate; priority +$50 / 24-hr +$30
MAchecked 2026-05-31$12.00Letter of Good Standing; fee not directly stated in current search
MDchecked 2026-05-31$20.00$20 Certificate of Status via SDAT
MEchecked 2026-06-01$30.00Maine ICRS portal; fee not directly stated in current search
MIchecked 2026-06-01$10.00Standard CoGS fee not directly captured; $50 fee is for Restoration of Good Standing
MNchecked 2026-05-31$5.00$15 Certificate of Good Standing; emailed in 10-15 minutes
MOchecked 2026-05-31$10.00$10 per consolidated schedule
MSchecked 2026-05-31$25 online and immediate
MTchecked 2026-05-31$5.00$5 Certificate of Existence via online portal
NCchecked 2026-05-31$15.00$15 or less
NDchecked 2026-05-31$15.00$20 via FirstStop
NEchecked 2026-06-01Fee not directly stated; credit card accepted
NHchecked 2026-05-31$5.00$5 each; pre-paid
NJchecked 2026-05-31$50.00Fee not directly stated; certificate mailed 1st class
NMchecked 2026-06-01$25.00Fee not stated in current search; portal-based
NVchecked 2026-05-31$50.00$50 Good Standing Certificate
NYchecked 2026-05-31$25.00$25; cannot be ordered online — written request only
OHchecked 2026-05-31$5.00$5 via dedicated cogs.ohiosos.gov subdomain
OKchecked 2026-06-01$20.00Fee not directly stated
ORchecked 2026-05-31$10.00$10 Certificate of Existence via Oregon Business Registry
PAchecked 2026-06-01$40.00Fee not directly stated
RIchecked 2026-05-31$20.00$22 online / $20 in-person or mail
SCchecked 2026-05-31$10.00$10 statutory
SDchecked 2026-06-01$35.00Standard LLC CoGS fee not directly stated in current search
TNchecked 2026-05-31$20.00$20 per set
TXchecked 2026-05-31$15.00Certificate of Fact $15 short / $25 long form per Form 806
UTchecked 2026-05-31$12.00$12 Regular Form / $20 Long Form
VAchecked 2026-05-31$6.00$6 via CIS
VTchecked 2026-05-31$35.00$25 online; valid 90 days from issuance
WAchecked 2026-05-31$20.00Express PDF $20; certified-copy channel $40
WIchecked 2026-05-31$10.00$10 online; available 6 days; reprintable
WVchecked 2026-06-01$10.00Fee not directly stated in current search
WYchecked 2026-05-31$20.00Free online PDF; $20 paper alternative per consolidated schedule

Hover column headers to see field definitions. Hover cell text to see source notes. Typed unknowns (e.g., “Portal not observable”) are methodological limits, not data gaps.

Not legal advice

Whether a particular requester will accept a given certificate, and how recent it must be, is a fact-specific question. Confirm requirements with the requesting party and the state before relying on this page.

See also: Certificate of Good Standing Fees by State (matrix) · What is an annual report? · Administrative dissolution & reinstatement

Frequently asked questions

Is a Certificate of Good Standing the same as a Certificate of Existence?

Usually yes. Several states issue the identical document under a different name — Certificate of Existence, Certificate of Status, or Certificate of Fact. The naming is state-specific; the function is the same.

How long is a Certificate of Good Standing valid?

The certificate reflects status on the date it is issued. There is no fixed expiration, but banks, lenders, and other states often require one dated within a recent window (commonly 30-90 days).

What does it cost?

Fees vary by state. See the Certificate of Good Standing Fees by State matrix for the official fee in all 51 jurisdictions, each linked to the state's source.

Why might a state refuse to issue one?

A state will decline if the entity is not current — typically because an annual report or fee is overdue, or the entity has been administratively dissolved. Reinstating or catching up on filings restores eligibility.

Go deeper with source-backed research

Explore methodology, datasets, and related matrices cited on this page.