Foreign LLC Withdrawal (Dissolution) Fees by State
What it costs for an out-of-state LLC to withdraw from doing business in each U.S. state — the state filing fee for foreign withdrawal across all 51 jurisdictions.
| State | Llc Fee | Filing Type | Standard Turnaround | Standard Turnaround Other Days | Expedite Available | Expedite Fee | Expedite Turnaround Days | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AKchecked 2026-07-25 | $25 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 10.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Foreign (Non-Alaskan) LLC withdrawal is filed as a Certificate of Cancellation, form 08-502, $25.00. The form is offered as a hardcopy PDF only — no online option is listed — and the division states hardcopy processing normally takes 10–15 business days. |
| ALchecked 2026-05-31 | $163 | Online | Other - See Column F | 10.0 | Yes | $100 | 2.0 | includes a Certificate of Compliance from Alabama Department of Revenue required, $100 processing fee, filing removed if check dishonored ($30 fee) |
| ARchecked 2026-07-25 | $0 | Online | Other - See Column F | 7.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | The exit filing for a foreign LLC is an Application for Statement of Withdrawal by foreign limited liability company, item 15 on the Business & Commercial Services LLC fee list. |
| AZchecked 2026-05-31 | $10 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 44.0 | Yes | $35 | 14.0 | Statement of Withdrawal of Foreign LLC or Foreign Series Registration – filing fee (regular processing) |
| CAchecked 2026-07-25 | $5 | Online | Other - See Column F | 7.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | A registered foreign LLC cancels by filing a Certificate of Cancellation (Form LLC-4/7). The Short Form Cancellation Certificate (Form LLC-4/8) is listed only for domestic LLCs, not for foreign registrants. |
| COchecked 2026-07-25 | $10 | Online | Immediate Acceptance | 0.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Colorado's schedule is document-based rather than entity-based: a foreign LLC ends its authority by filing a Foreign Entity Authority Withdrawal, $10.00, with no expedite option listed against that line. |
| CTchecked 2026-07-25 | $120 | Online | Other - See Column F | 3.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | A foreign LLC withdraws by filing a Statement of Withdrawal of Registration, $120 — the counterpart to the Foreign Registration Statement filed to qualify. |
| DCchecked 2026-07-25 | $220 | Online | Other - See Column F | 15.0 | Yes | $50 | 3.0 | DC lists two separate $220.00 exit filings for a foreign LLC: Withdrawal of registration of a registered foreign entity, and Withdrawal on dissolution or conversion to a non-filing entity. Reinstating a terminated foreign registration is $300.00. |
| DEchecked 2026-05-31 | $200 | Online | Other - See Column F | 120.0 | Yes | $100 | 5.0 | Foreign LLC (Corporations – Foreign) withdrawal filing fees |
| FLchecked 2026-05-31 | $25 | Online | Other - See Column F | 2.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Not observed |
| GAchecked 2026-07-25 | $0 | Online | Other - See Column F | 7.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Georgia uses one combined Application for Withdrawal of Certificate of Authority for foreign corporations, LLCs, LPs, LLPs and LLLPs; the schedule shows this row as 'No Fee' with a '+$10.00' surcharge notation. |
| HIchecked 2026-05-31 | $26 | Online | Other - See Column F | 5.0 | Yes | $25 | 3.0 | Expedite option is only offered for mail in only |
| IAchecked 2026-05-31 | $10 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 10.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Iowa charges a $10 filing fee for a Foreign LLC Statement of Withdrawal (withdrawal of foreign LLC) as per the Iowa Secretary of State’s Business Entity Forms and Fees page and the official Statement of Withdrawal form. |
| IDchecked 2026-05-31 | $21 | Online | Other - See Column F | 15.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Withdrawal of Foreign Registration Statement requires filing with the Idaho Secretary of State per Title 30, Chapter 21, Idaho Code; filing fee is $20 for online or $40 by mail or in person. |
| ILchecked 2026-07-25 | $5 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 45.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | The filing is Form LLC-45.40, Application for Withdrawal (Foreign), $5, with an additional $50 expedited fee listed for the same form. |
| INchecked 2026-07-25 | $22 | Online | 24 Hours | 1.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | — |
| KSchecked 2026-05-31 | $33 | Online | 24 Hours | 1.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Not specified on page |
| KYchecked 2026-07-25 | $40 | Online | 24 Hours | 1.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Kentucky files foreign corporations and foreign LLCs under one combined fee heading; the exit filing is an Application for Certificate of Withdrawal, $40.00. |
| LAchecked 2026-07-25 | $155 | Online | Other - See Column F | 2.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Louisiana does not price foreign-LLC withdrawal as a standalone line. A single bundled fee covers application for authority, amended applications, withdrawal proceedings, termination of withdrawal proceedings, reinstatement, merger and certificate of correction — for foreign corporations and foreign LLCs alike. |
| MAchecked 2026-05-31 | $109 | Online | 24 Hours | 1.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Foreign limited liability company must have filed all required annual reports and paid all fees; withdrawal requires submitting a Certificate of Withdrawal. |
| MDchecked 2026-07-25 | $0 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 56.0 | Yes | $150 | 7.0 | Maryland has waived the base filing fee for a Certificate of Cancellation of a Foreign LLC ($0.00). Card and PayPal payments still carry a 3% convenience charge. |
| MEchecked 2026-07-25 | $90 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 30.0 | Yes | $50 | 1.0 | Maine's exit filing for a foreign LLC is a statement of cancellation of foreign qualification under section 1628 of the LLC Act, with a $90 fee fixed by statute. |
| MIchecked 2026-07-25 | $10 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 10.0 | Yes | $100 | 3.0 | A foreign LLC withdraws with Form 761, Certificate of Withdrawal, $10, which LARA accepts as an online submission. Expedited handling is a separate request (Form 272) charged on top of the filing fee: $100 for 24-hour and $200 for same-day service on an existing-entity document. |
| MNchecked 2026-07-25 | $55 | Online | Other - See Column F | 2.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Minnesota prices the foreign-LLC Withdrawal by delivery channel: $35.00 by mail, $55.00 online, $55.00 in person by appointment. |
| MOchecked 2026-05-31 | $27 | Online | 24 Hours | 1.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Requires Certificate of Tax Clearance from Department of Revenue |
| MSchecked 2026-07-25 | $27 | Online | 24 Hours | 1.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | The filing is a Certificate of Cancellation of Foreign Limited Liability Company, form F0203. |
| MTchecked 2026-07-16 | $0 | Online | Other - See Column F | 5.0 | Yes | $20 | 1.0 | Montana charges no fee ('NO FEE') for Certificate of Withdrawal for foreign LLCs. |
| NCchecked 2026-05-31 | $12 | Online | Other - See Column F | 12.0 | Yes | $113 | 2.0 | Application for Certificate of Withdrawal (for use by Limited Liability Companies) |
| NDchecked 2026-05-31 | $20 | Online | Other - See Column F | 20.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Foreign (out‑of‑state) LLC withdrawal requires filing a Certificate of Withdrawal (Foreign LLC) with the North Dakota Secretary of State; fee is $20 |
| NEchecked 2026-07-25 | $27 | Online | Other - See Column F | 2.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Nebraska publishes no per-document line for foreign-LLC withdrawal. Under the schedule effective July 1, 2021 it falls under 'subsequent business entity filings' at $30 in-house (paper) or $25 online, plus applicable portal fees. |
| NHchecked 2026-05-31 | $35 | Online | Other - See Column F | 15.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Foreign LLC withdrawal in NH requires both filing a certificate of cancellation with the Secretary of State ($35) and obtaining a statement of withdrawal (certificate) from the Department of Revenue Administration ($30). |
| NJchecked 2026-05-31 | $128 | Online | 24 Hours | 1.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Foreign LLC must file a Certificate of Cancellation (fee $125) per N.J.S.A. 42:2C‑93; alternatively, streamlined dissolution/withdrawal procedure requires combined payment of $120 under NJ Admin Code § 18:7‑14.21. |
| NMchecked 2026-06-01 | $25 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 30.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | For a foreign limited liability company, filing an application for cancellation of registration of a foreign LLC and issuing a certificate of cancellation costs $25.00 in New Mexico. |
| NVchecked 2026-07-25 | $100 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 5.0 | Yes | $125 | 1.0 | Nevada carries foreign-LLC dissolution as its own line — Dissolution of Foreign Limited-Liability Company, $100.00 — priced identically to the domestic line. |
| NYchecked 2026-05-31 | $205 | Fax | 24 Hours | 120.0 | Yes | $25 | 7.0 | Expedite Fax |
| OHchecked 2026-05-31 | $50 | Online | Other - See Column F | 7.0 | Yes | $100 | 3.0 | Cancellation of Foreign LLC registration (withdrawal) requires filing Certificate of Dissolution of Limited Liability Company/Cancellation of Foreign LLC (Form 618) with a $50.00 filing fee under Ohio Revised Code § 1706.514. |
| OKchecked 2026-07-25 | $105 | Online | Other - See Column F | 3.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | The filing is an Application for Withdrawal for a foreign LLC under 18 O.S. §2055. |
| ORchecked 2026-07-25 | $275 | Fax | Other - See Column F | 13.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Oregon does not separate amendment from withdrawal for foreign LLCs: one 'Amendment/Withdrawal' line covers both at $275.00, the same amount as the foreign LLC's Application for Authority and its annual renewal. |
| PAchecked 2026-05-31 | $70 | Online | Other - See Column F | 15.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Statement of withdrawal must be delivered for filing and accompanied by tax clearance certificates unless exceptions apply. |
| RIchecked 2026-05-31 | $75 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 5.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Rhode Island provides two distinct exit tracks for a foreign LLC: (1) voluntary withdrawal via Certificate of Cancellation (RIGL §7-16-53), filing fee $75 (RIGL §7-16-65(17)), which revokes the registered agent's authority and makes the RI Secretary of State the LLC's agent for service of any pending matters; and (2) involuntary revocation of authority under RIGL §7-16-67.1 for nonpayment of the LLC's annual charge, a separate, SOS-initiated track distinct from voluntary cancellation. |
| SCchecked 2026-05-31 | $25 | Online | Other - See Column F | 2.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Filing a certificate of cancellation does not terminate the authority of the Secretary of State to accept service of process for claims arising during the time the LLC was authorized to transact business in South Carolina. |
| SDchecked 2026-07-25 | $10 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 3.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | — |
| TNchecked 2026-05-31 | $21 | Online | 24 Hours | 1.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Foreign LLC must also provide a tax clearance for termination or withdrawal under Tenn. Code § 48‑246‑401 |
| TXchecked 2026-05-31 | $16 | Fax | Other - See Column F | 7.0 | Yes | $25 | 2.0 | Expedite by fax only |
| UTchecked 2026-07-25 | $0 | Fax | Other - See Column F | 14.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Utah charges nothing to withdraw: 'Foreign entity withdrawal — No Charge', listed under Foreign Registration Filings and mirroring the domestic 'voluntary dissolution/termination — No Charge' line. |
| VAchecked 2026-05-31 | $25 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 28.0 | Yes | $100 | 2.0 | The filing fee is $25.00; if the certificate of cancellation is issued on or before the annual registration fee due date, the annual registration fee for the current year is not required. An additional $25.00 fee applies if the LLC has merged or converted and the instrument needs to be recorded. |
| VTchecked 2026-07-25 | $20 | Online | Other - See Column F | 3.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | A foreign LLC files a Certificate of Cancellation under 11 V.S.A. §4118; the fee is set by 11 V.S.A. §4012. |
| WAchecked 2026-07-25 | $20 | Online | Other - See Column F | 2.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Washington charges no fee: the LLC fee table (RCW 25.15) carries a single 'Dissolution/Withdrawal — No Fee' line covering both domestic dissolution and foreign withdrawal. Priority handling and delivery method are billed separately. |
| WIchecked 2026-05-31 | $40 | Online | 24 Hours | 1.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | Statement of Withdrawal (Form 524) filing fee is $40.00; an optional expedited service is available for an additional non‑refundable $25.00. |
| WVchecked 2026-05-31 | $25 | Online | Other - See Column F | 10.0 | Yes | $100 | 1.0 | email to the state for expedite |
| WYchecked 2026-05-31 | $60 | Mail-In | Other - See Column F | 25.0 | No | not_applicable | not_applicable | 3-5 WEEKS IS THE STANDARD TAT IN WY |
Hover column headers to see field definitions. Hover cell text to see source notes. Typed unknowns (e.g., “Portal not observable”) are methodological limits, not data gaps.
What this matrix covers
When a foreign-registered LLC stops doing business in a state, it files a withdrawal (sometimes called cancellation of authority) to end its registration and its ongoing report and fee obligations there. The llc_fee column holds the state filing fee, with turnaround and expedite options where published.
How to read this matrix
Each row is a U.S. jurisdiction (50 states plus the District of Columbia). Fees are the state filing fee only and exclude any service fee. A typed unknown such as “Not observed” means the field was not stated in the state's published materials — a methodological limit, not a confirmed absence. Every figure is cited to the state's official source linked on each row. States can revise fees at any time — confirm against the linked source before filing. Method notes live at /about/methodology/.
Sources
Per-row primary-source citations live in the matrix's sources.json companion. The full source taxonomy lives at /about/source-registry/.
Frequently asked questions
What is foreign withdrawal?
It is the filing a foreign-registered LLC uses to formally end its authority to do business in a state — distinct from dissolving the LLC itself in its home state. Filing it stops that state's recurring report and fee obligations.
Is withdrawal the same as dissolving the LLC?
No. Withdrawal ends a foreign registration in one state; the LLC continues to exist in its formation state. Dissolving the entity entirely is a separate filing covered in the dissolution matrices.
Are these fees current?
Each row links to the state's official source and is cited to that primary document; where a snapshot was captured, the figure is also verified against it. Confirm against the linked source before filing.
Go deeper with source-backed research
Explore methodology, datasets, and related matrices cited on this page.